Children’s Home Society of NC Announces New Board Chair and Welcomes New Board Members

Children’s Home Society of North Carolina is pleased to announce the appointment of its new Board Chair, as well as to welcome new arrivals to the CHS Board of Trustees. Their diverse talents and rich backgrounds will add greatly to the agency’s enduring mission to promote the right of every child to a permanent, safe, and loving family.

Susan Larson McDonald of Greensboro, who had previously served as a Board Member, has been elected Board Chair. New Board Members include Margaret Wren de St. Aubin of Siler City, John B. (Johnny) Morris III of Chapel Hill, Elizabeth Rankin of Greensboro, and David Shuford of Charlotte.

Susan Larson McDonald
Susan Larson McDonald is a retired executive of VF Corporation, the largest apparel company in the world, headquartered in Greensboro. She began her career as an employee attorney and recently retired after serving as the company’s Global Vice President of Human Resources for 18 years. She has an undergraduate degree from Augustana College and a law degree from Wake Forest University. She has a passion for community service and has served in leadership roles on several nonprofit boards in Greensboro.

Margaret Wren de St. Aubin
Margaret Wren de St. Aubin is the owner of North Carolina Travel. She is the President of both Wren Industries, Inc. and the Wren Foundation, and is the Managing Director of the Wren Family Estate, LLC. She attended Salem Academy and Mary Baldwin College, where she received a Bachelor of Arts degree. Her volunteer service includes the Board of Trustees for Mary Baldwin College, and the boards of the Central Carolina Community College Foundation, the UNC Lineberger Center, the Eastern Piedmont Boys & Girls Clubs of America, and the Wren Family Boys & Girls Club.

John B. (Johnny) Morris III
Johnny Morris has more than 40 years of commercial real estate experience. He is a Senior Manager with TrademarkMorris, LLC and is the President of Morris Commercial, Inc. Morris graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill with a degree in Chemistry. His community service includes the SECU Family House at UNC Hospitals, Well Fargo Bank, Chapel Hill Ronald McDonald House, UNC Educational Foundation, UNC General Alumni Association, Chapel Hill Chamber of Commerce, Chapel Hill-Carrboro Public School Foundation, Chapel Hill-Carrboro Downtown Commission, Chapel-Hill Carrboro Board of Realtors, Chapel Hill Sports Club, and the NC High School Athletic Association. He currently serves on the CHS Foundation board and is the incoming Chair of the Foundation Board.

Elizabeth Rankin
Elizabeth Rankin was previously in pharmaceutical sales with Merck and a teaching tennis professional. She graduated from East Carolina University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communications. Rankin’s volunteer service includes the boards of the Future Fund, Family Service of the Piedmont, and the Greensboro Children’s Museum. She currently chairs the annual fund campaign for the lower school at Greensboro Day School.

David Shuford
David Shuford is an attorney in the Charlotte office of Robinson, Bradshaw & Hinson P.A. Shuford graduated from Woodberry Forest School and received an A.B. degree in History and Political Science from Duke. He earned J.D. and LL.M. (International and Comparative Law) degrees with honors from Duke Law School. Shuford serves as the Chair-elect and Vice Chair of the International Law and Practice Section of the North Carolina Bar Association, as well as on the Boards of the World Affairs Council of Charlotte and the Charlotte International Arbitration Society.

Retiring members of the Children’s Home Society Board of Trustees include Ann S. Grant, Judy Harrison, David R. Howard, Noah Huffstetler III, Patricia Ingersoll, Larry F. McAuley, Steve Richards, Jane Rippy, and Ken Stevens.

The CHS Board of Trustees is responsible for financial oversight and governance of the agency, which serves thousands of children and families across North Carolina every year. CHS has placed more than 15,000 children into adoptive homes since its founding in 1902.