CHS provides foster care resources for children who need placement outside their own homes. Some children need short-term foster care placement during a family crisis, while others need care because of abuse or neglect. Families are needed to provide children with safe and loving home environments while a long-term, permanent plan is achieved for the child. We work in partnership with DHHS/DSS and a stipend is provided toward room, board and clothing for the child.
- What is foster care?
- Who are the children that come into foster care?
- I want to help, but I don’t know a lot about children in foster care
- What does it cost to foster?
- What are the requirements for me to be licensed?
- How long does it take to get licensed?
- What are the benefits of the Trauma Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanence: Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP)?
- When do the classes take place?
- Where are the classes located?
- Who can attend?
- How much does the training cost?
- Who can adopt?
- I would like to adopt; do I have to get licensed?
- Do I have to have transportation or a Driver’s License?
- How many bedrooms do I need?
- Is there an income requirement?
- Can you become a foster or adoptive parent if you have a disability?
- Is fingerprinting required?
- Are there any special criminal record check requirements?
- Do I have to be a resident of NC?
- Can foster parents work outside the home?
- How long is a foster care placement?
- Do I have to complete additional training once I have become a licensed foster parent?
- Do I have to take any child that is sent to me?
- How often do I have to renew my license?
- What’s next?
The children that are placed into the state foster care program may:
- Have been neglected, abused or abandoned
- Range from infancy through 18 years of age
- Be part of a sibling group
- Have special physical, medical and emotional needs
- Represent all cultural and economic groups
During the licensing process, the TIPS-MAPP training provides education on why children need foster care, the effects of separation from birth family and their fears. We are seeking individuals who will commit to assisting a child work through their feelings and behaviors while dealing with separation from their birth family.
There is no fee to foster one of NC’s waiting children.
- Be 21 years of age or older
- Legal resident of U.S. and North Carolina
- Complete 30 hours of training provided by CHS, specifically Trauma Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanence: Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP), the North Carolina State recommended pre-certification program for prospective foster and adoptive families. We invite our families to the training after you have completed an application and a first interview has occurred with one of our Specialists.
- Current First Aid/CPR Certification
- Successfully complete of CHS Medication Administration training
- Provide current medicals and Health History for all household members
- Provide an approved Fire Inspection Form facilitated by your local fire department for your home
- Provide certified copies of ALL marriage and divorce verification
- No felony convictions involving child abuse, spouse abuse, crimes involving violence, DWI (within last 5 years)
- No substantiated Child Protective Service Investigations
- Willing to submit to a thorough assessment of your family and home
On average, it takes 6-7 months. This is an average and is dependent on timely completion of paperwork and other aspects of the process.
The training helps you consider:
- Is fostering/adopting for me?
- Am I able to attach and bond to a child or children not born to me?
- Am I able to learn to parent a child who has been neglected and/or abused?
- What type of child can I successfully parent?
TIPS-MAPP allows participates to interact with other individuals while affording the opportunity to gain insight into the needs of children who experience the child welfare system and how the child and their birth family are impacted.
Classes are offered throughout the year.
Classes are offered throughout the state.
Anyone CHS invites to the class.
There is no cost to attend the training.
Families of all kinds are needed.
Yes, to adopt a child from the foster care system, CHS requires families to be licensed.
Foster parents must be able to provide transportation to assist with doctor appointments, visitation, therapy, school and other appointments.
Each child needs to have their own bed, drawer and closet space for their belongings and privacy. Children under the age of 5 of different genders may share a room depending on the needs of the children. Children, birth, foster or adopted, of the same gender may share a room at any age if they are within 5 years of each other and there are no behavioral concerns.
Foster care is not seen as income, so you must have the ability to pay your bills and sustain your household and family.
Your doctor will need to provide documentation that you are able to provide for children and do not have a limited capacity to parent.
You are required to provide fingerprints so that the state can facilitate both an SBI and FBI check.
State law requires NC criminal record checks going back 5 years. If you have lived in NC for less than 5 years, you will need to obtain out-of-state background checks.
Yes, working individuals can be licensed as foster parents.
A child’s placement may be for as short as an overnight stay or longer than a year.
Yes, CHS foster parents are required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of training each year.
No. You have the right to accept or reject any placement.
North Carolina requires foster parents to renew their licenses every two years.
- Complete your application. With the application, CHS will complete a statewide NC criminal record check for all adults residing in your home. This is required at the time of application and is $20.00 per person.
- You will be called by a CHS staff person and an appointment will be made to meet with you and answer your questions.
- Based on your first interview, you may be invited to a TIPS-MAPP class.
- During TIPS-MAPP, a CHS Specialist will work closely with you while you complete the process.
- Once you have your foster care license and/or approved pre-placement assessment, you will begin learning about waiting children from CHS staff.